The Susan Hill Challenge

The Susan Hill Challenge

As a massive book worm and I own a lot of books. Whilst browsing in a bookshop with my brother, he challenged me to go a whole year without buying a book. I accepted. I’m not sure why I accepted and I had nothing to gain but I liked the idea. I went to my shelves and counted 86 physical books and 51 eBooks waiting for me for me to read. I’d read 37 books last year. So I have enough books to last me 3.7 years. That doesn’t include my playwriting books and plays that I’ve always wanted to read. This challenge reminded me of a Susan Hill book, “Howard’s End is on the Landing”.

 

“Early one autumn afternoon in pursuit of an elusive book on my shelves, I encountered dozens of others that I had never read, or forgotten I owned, or wanted to read for a second time. The discovery inspired me to embark on a year-long voyage through my books, forsaking new purchases in order to get to know my own collection again. A book which is left on a shelf for a decade is a dead thing, but it is also a chrysalis, packed with the potential to burst into new life. Wandering through her house that day, my eyes were opened to how much of that life was stored in my home, neglected for years. Howard’s End is on the Landing charts the journey as I revisit the conversations, libraries and bookshelves of the past that have informed a lifetime of reading and writing.” Susan Hill

 

So I have decided to call this whole thing ‘The Susan Hill Challenge’. Just take 365 days to read all those books on my shelves and re-read some of my favourite series such as Harry Potter, Hunger Games and Scott Pilgrim. I’m not waiting 3.7 years to buy a book. Just 365 and I have to read more than 37 books in 2013. This is going to be difficult with a Dan Brown book in 117 day. Follow me on Pinterest, Tumblr, Twitter, Waterstones Reviews and this blog to see what I’m reading in 2013. Each blog entry will have a little something like this:

 

Sherlock: The Casebook by Guy Adams

Ideal for people who love the series, there is insightful information but this is only 30% of the whole book. The rest is the series in note and post it format, it’s worth it for the photos.

***

 

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

A modern novel that perfectly captures two people at their best and at their worst. You ride Pat People’s mental health roller coaster and are grateful for the journey.

****  

Leave a Reply

