The Ownership of DVDs

The Ownership of DVDs

Although I think I’ve been watching less television in recent months, I also think I’ve been watching more. I’ve been watching a greater variety of television; new series and what everyone else is watching. Yes, I am watching Breaking Bad. No I haven’t seen Arrested Development, Dexter or Orange is the New Black. Since having access to Netflix, I’m watching things I’ve never seen before. Watching television has become an event again, I make time for it. Before, I was terrible for watching my favourite series over and over again whilst doing something. I would spilt my laptop screen in two, one side would be my essay and the other would be Scrubs or Family Guy.

 

Now, I honestly can’t tell you the last time I watched one of these DVDs and I found myself asking why I still owned them. If I want to watch The Big Bang Theory, I can just turn on E4 at any time. If I want to watch Scrubs, I can just turn on Viva. The same with movies, there are movies I own that I could watch on Netflix or I find myself watching on television, ad breaks and all! But should I sell them? Well, the fact is I can’t. I’ve spent money on them and for good reason. Firstly, I’m a sucker for special features. Second, I love these film and television series. Without trying to sound like an antipiracy advert, by buying these DVDs I’m saying: I like this, here’s money, go make more. I wonder how much money production companies get when they sell a film to Netflix.  Maybe there will come a time when I’ll sell them or give them to a better home, but for now, it’s nice to know they’re there when I need them. Especially my Disney films, they are my anti-depressants. No one feels sad at the end of a Disney film, they’ll make you cry at the beginning but they’ll bring you straight back up again!

 

One thought on “The Ownership of DVDs

  1. Too true. Plus, since getting a Blu-ray player and investing in remastered favourites I’d say it could still be as much as the future as streaming.

Leave a Reply

