Old Fashion Thinking?

Old Fashion Thinking?

To explain what’s going on in my head, I should probably start at the beginning. I was watching Masterchef. It’s a brilliantly addictive programme! “Cooking doesn’t get tougher than this!” But I noticed something. In one of the rounds, the contestants serve food to past champions and finalists. There’s always a female judge sat at the table, normally accompanied by two males. The thing I noticed was this: 9 times out of 10, the female judge is served her food first. So this is my question: is this anti feminist?

I’m not a good feminist. As I woman, I feel I should be, but I also like being a delicate princess. It’s hypocritical of me to want equality in the work place but expect a gentleman to hold the door open for me. I feel like a bad person for thinking this. “Don’t discriminate me because of my sex but yes, ladies first.” I have had this argument with my friend DanBrown, whether is a male chauvinistic view that women were not capable of opening the door by themselves or if that’s good manners and being a gentleman.

I keep doors open for anyone, I’ll hold the lift for that person running because I hope that people would grant me the same curtesy. If I see someone drop cash, I’ve been known to give it back to its original owner because I hope, if the tables were turned, I’d get my money back. Despite what Robin Thicke was implying, he does have a point. We live in a world of blurred lines. But if we’re all nice and polite to everyone, you can’t get anything wrong. Right?

Leave a Reply

