Book Questions

Book Questions

I am feeling lazy because I am full of Mexican food. Here’s me filling out a thing I found on Tumblr. There’s rule and tagging and adding new questions but I liked the thought provoking nature of the thing so here we go: 

1) Do you buy books online? 
I try not to. Given my discount at my job, I only buy books online if they are rare or out of print. I buy books online if I’m using them for things other than reading. I bought a copy of Alice in Wonderland and used the pages to cover a tea caddy/box for a friend’s birthday. Proof I’m awesome at presents. 

2) Do you have a pet that share the reading with you? 
Not anymore. 

3) Favourite female\male character? 
I adore the Harry Potter series, I would say my favourite character is Hermione, but I love how Snape is written. He was proof there is no good or evil, and not to judge people on their actions. We hated him and he broke our hearts. 

4) What inspires you? 
Bad writing! It’s horrid to say but I learn from other writers mistakes. I hate predictable crime and if I could glance at the pages to read it, the writer’s not doing their job properly. A book demands your attention.  

5) Do you have a favourite bookmark? If yes, why? 
Predictably, it’s Harry Potter but I’ve torn his head off since having him. But it’s been nearly 3 years!

6) A book that disappointed you… very, very much! 
Frankenstein really annoyed me because of it’s structure, the story of a story of a story with another story in it!

7) Where would you like to live, if you could? 
London

8)“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it” – J.D. Salinger “The Catcher in the Rye”- who would you call? 
Neil Gaiman. I’d have questions and demands. 

9) What book reminds you home? 
Harry Potter. I remember when Half Blood Prince was released, it was near my Dad’s birthday and we had a BBQ at ours. I remember being forced to join the family outside but I read on regardless. There’s photo of my extremely pregnant Aunt pulling a face behind me as I read. 

10) Do you like the crime fiction? If yes, do you prefer the classics or the moderns? 
I like most books, I like the modern gore and the Sherlock Holmes books. 

11) What book do you want to read but you haven’t bought yet? (#wishlistzone) 
I’m terrible for buying what ever I want. I really want to read Notes on a Scandal so I’ll say that because I don’t actually own it, shock horror.  

12). What are you currently reading? 
Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson, it’s a sinister 50 First Dates. 

13). What book seems to constantly stay in your To-Read list? 
Neil Gaiman backlist, classics like Jane Eyre, and theatre/writing books.  

14). Poetry fan? Who’s your main-squeeze poet? 
I wish I was, should make more of an effort to acquire and read. 

15). What book came into your life at the perfect time? 
POTTER!

16)  Do you make soundtracks to your books? 
I do not, I must have silence. 

17). What series do you wish never ended/will never end? 
POTTER but I worry it’ll never live up to my expectations. I’d like sequels to a few books like Neverwhere. 

18). What fictional character do you hate, but simultaneously see yourself in?  
None come to mind, any character that it self loathing and lazy is a good place to start. 

19). What’s your genre? 
ALL

20). What book do you wish you had written? 
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

21). Favourite classic? 
Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

22). What author do you think also qualifies as a philosopher? 
Joseph Heller 

Leave a Reply

