Ed Fringe: Wing It Wednesday

Ed Fringe: Wing It Wednesday

A mile might not seem that far, but I had 15 minutes to navigate the busy streets of Edinburgh to get to my next venue. I got there just on time for Rob Auton’s The Face Show. For those of you paying attention, you’ll know that Auton was one of Simon Munnery’s Fylm School students. Anyone with Munnery’s stamp of approve is worth checking out so I epically power walked to Banshee Labyrinth: Scotland’s Most Haunted Night Club. That’s nothing to brag about! If I’d known, I won’t have been in such a hurry to get there. Although, it was 4 o’clock in the afternoon, I don’t think they come out that early. Thom was there in plenty of time and nabbed a seat, I stood at the back and watched something extraordinary.

 

As you’d expect from the title, the show was about faces. It was funny and awkward in parts, but mainly funny. Auton did face exercises to music normally found in nightclubs, he drew faces, he compared faces. There was little deviation from the theme of faces, but he did deviate from the form of comedy. An alien is visiting and hears an angelic chorus; he asks a mouse about what he sees, beautiful sounds coming from our faces. What follows was a tear jerking time travelling journey through the highs and lows of human faces, the joy and sorrow they can express. Everyone will know Rob Auton’s face one day, but we saw him first; ergo, we are cooler.

 

Wednesday was originally going to be dedicated to the Free Fringe, as a way of saving money; we weren’t going to spend a penny on Wednesday. That didn’t work out for me; I’d paid for the three pieces of theatre, eaten grease and drunk wine. It was my holiday, why was I denying myself the good stuff? Rob Auton was a part of the Free Fringe as were the next three acts we saw. There were a lot of comedians in Edinburgh, naturally. Many Thom respected which is why he couldn’t believe I took a flyer off of Carey Marx! Carey Marx! I don’t know who Carey Marx’s is! He was just the first guy I’d seen handing out booklets about the Free Fringe shows. Three of these comedians Thom quite likes where in the same place one after the other. This is how we came to climb The Canon’s Gait pub stairs six times. They kicked us out after every show so we kept going up and down.

 

18:00 Stephen Carlin: Drink Carlin Sensibly.

19:15 Carey Marx: Abominable

20:25 Nick Doody vs The Debonair Assassin

 

I don’t know what to say about these gentlemen. Let me just state for the record that I liked them and I did laugh. Like Ben Clover yesterday, it was straight forward stand up. Vanilla stand up if you will. I don’t know what else to say about it. I have discovered that I like comedy ‘and’, that ‘and’ is important because it would appear I like it when a comedian has another string to their bow. Excuse my swiping statement but we are used to this vanilla stand up, these comedians dominate our arenas, our panel shows and channels with people names. I like to experience the versatility of these comedians, see all of their shades and skills. Maybe this need is heighten after the death of Robin Williams, but it’s important to see the human behind the clown.

Leave a Reply

