Final Thoughts

Final Thoughts

10407286_10204490568277057_3725648583801682486_n

As I sit in the Library, waiting until 3pm to get the train to the airport, I realise I’ve written more about this trip than any playwriting or free writing. I underestimated this city; thinking I could do or see what I wanted in a limited number of hours and afternoons not realising how rich the culture and history would be. How fascinated I would be. How I would be in a constant state of awe. It’s true what they say, the world being a book and those that don’t travel.

But I now appreciate how lucky I am; for me, the journey is easy and it is cheap. I had perceived a £60 return ticket to be a lot but compare that with my new Australian friends who paid not hundred but thousands of pound each and they have to tolerate hostels for six weeks to explore cities I could visit in a weekend without breaking the bank and fly in a matter of hours. Their trip had two changes. I am lucky. I am lucky to live in Europe where there are so many cultures to explore, histories to learn and pages to turn.

I want to say Amsterdam is my favourite city but it’s the only one I’ve seen outside of the UK. There’s one thing I know now for certain; I can do it on my own. And if I can then I will. Maybe not soon what with America in April, but I know now what is possible. I’ll still have pen and paper and I may write about the city I’m in instead of the cities I create for the stage but that’s okay because that’s means it’s a worthy city to be in. Not only does it get your attention, it demands it.