Baptize me, I want to be a Mormon!

Baptize me, I want to be a Mormon!

As I write this, I am listening to the soundtrack. It’s awfully addictive. I’ve been muttering parts of it under my breath which is difficult as some of the lyrics include: “Fuck you, God, in the ass, mouth, and cunt-a”. Only a musical by the creators of South Park and Avenue Q would write music that you can’t sing in polite company. Thankfully, the Mormon songs are a little calmer, I can sing “Spooky Mormon Hell Dream” and “I believe that God lives on a planet called Kolob!” in public. I think I would get strange looks but mothers wouldn’t be running away covering their children’s ears.

If you haven’t seen The Book of Mormon, you must see. If you made it to that sentence, you can watch it. If you cringed at the previous paragraph, maybe it’s not for you. Bit of back ground, The Book of Mormon is the brain child of Trey Parker, and Matt Stone, the trouble twosome behind South Park, with Robert Lopez, one of the brains behind Avenue Q. I’ve dipped in and out of South Park, I admire their balls, and I adore Avenue Q. This trio is a winning combination.

As you can tell, I love the music. The whole show is hilarious. Actually tears coming down my cheeks. The plot is simple enough, two Mormons go to Africa to convert people to the church. Unfortunately, the village they visit is under threat by a war lord who is cutting of girl’s clitoris. And five, six, seven, eight. The subject of a documentary more than a musical. I learnt so much about the church, the culture of the Mormon faith only being communicated in rumours such as: oh, they can have more than one wife. In this musical, it was told through fabulous costumes and tap dancing.

Despite the high risk subject, the boys handle it with care and heart. So much so, the Mormon Church advertise in the programme, or they’re too nice to say anything. Each and every one of the cast were fabulous, I don’t know how they do it every night without laughing or losing it all together. There are some weird parts that you would expect to seeing South Park but not on London’s West End. I’m so glad it’s here. I wonder how long it will stay because the ticket prices are rather high. Without a large cheque from a grandmother, I never would have been about to see it. But people are paying those prices, just a shame some people will never be able to afford it.