Free Writing: Vit

Free Writing: Vit

It seemed impossible to begin with. Ultimate happiness diet. I’d tried all the fads before. This was just the latest one. No one ate meals of course, not really. I can’t remember the last time I chewed something. Gum maybe. Nicotine gum. I remember mint covering something awful. The latest diet was proving popular and more importantly effective. The principle is this, Vitamin D is in sunlight, it makes you happy in summer and the lack of it makes you sad in the winter. Like, it’s literally SAD. Seasonal attitude dysfunction or something like that.

So the latest trend has you basically taking a VD overdose. It gives you a happiness kick, a much needed happiness kick. But it’s like everybody says about these vit diets, you’re body takes what you need and you’ll pee out the rest eventually. It’s like back in ’89, everyone was getting really sick so VC was the one to take. I heard rumours of real oranges but that was Up Town where everyone has money. I buy my vits, like most people in my town, from the Academy. It’s group of guys that make the pills, the vit pills. The purest this side of Up Town, everybody says.

My neighbour was using everything especially cal, calcium for her bones. She in her thirties now so is likely to break a hip any day. She broke an arm not too long ago. She tried to sue the Academy. They broke her other arm. She got taken Up Town. I think they helped. I like to think they helped. I take iron mostly, VC when the cold hits. I’m old enough for periods and the Academy said iron will help with the blood lose. Nan says I won’t until I put on some weight. I’m four stone.