Cumberbatch and Theatre of 2015

Cumberbatch and Theatre of 2015

I have lovingly borrowed Tim Masters article from the BBC Website about what Theatre Land has to offer in 2015. I haven’t seen anything in the last week and am pretty tired from an all-night Avenger’s Marathon at the Prince Charles Cinema, maybe I’ll talk about that next week. For now, here’s my opinion on the theatre that hasn’t happened yet.

First of all, my favourite subject: Benedict Cumberbatch. We’ve had some pretty incredible Hamlet’s this past decade including two doctors, most notably David Tennant. Next to play the Danish Prince is Cumberbatch for a spell at the Barbican in the autumn. Cumberbatch hasn’t been on the stage since 2011 for Frankenstein, and since it’s sold out, I hope it’s recorded like Frankie. They can’t afford not to, Cumber…fans are all over the globe and the Barbican only seats 1160 people.

Stars is the theme of the year: Mark Strong leads the cast of A View from the Bridge at the Young Vic, Ralph Fiennes will play Jack Tanner in Bernard Shaw’s Man and Superman in the Lyttelton theatre in February, Damien Lewis is at Wyndham’s Theatre in David Mamet’s American Buffalo, and my personal favourite, Brian Blessed takes on King Lear at Holy Trinity Church, Guildford.

Theatre nerds like me will also be excited for some other big names, but these people haven’t had wildly popular television series or played You-Know-Who. Sir Nicholas Hytner’s time at the National has come to an end. His last play as artistic director is Tom Stoppard’s The Hard Problem. Kristin Scott Thomas is the newly crowned Queen of the West End, replacing Dame Helen Mirren in The Audience. And Max Stafford-Clark directs a verbatim play about Welsh rugby legend Gareth Thomas.

And finally, things I’m certain no one asked for! Bend It Like Beckham is the latest movie to get the musical treatment. I have no idea why. But, I was dubious of Made in Dagenham and loved it so I shall reserve judgement. Let’s see how long it lasts. Unless it’s screen in my local cinema, I doubt I’ll see much of this. My plan is to support smaller theatres producing new work. I want to be best friends with these theatres. But not until May because ‘MERICA!