1984 by George Orwell

1984 by George Orwell

Everyone must know the story of 1984 and the hell it spawned when someone used it an inspiration for a television show. Written in 1948, Orwell envisions a world under total control from Big Brother. We follow Winston Smith who, like all good heroes, begins to question the world around him. He hates following rules and follows his heart instead when he falls in love with Julia.

For me, the concept was better than the execution. There was too much exposition and not enough narrative. There was also of information thrown at the reader, at one point, we read a secret text book with Winston. This book is the big ‘What If’ following the Second War World, more deserving of a place in Non Fiction as an essay rather than a novel. I admire Winston for asking all the right questions but doesn’t ask upon them. You could argue that he can’t but its defeatist.

I hoped to read this book feeling empowered. I wanted to read about the system being challenged, even a force as big as Big Brother can be defeated and brought down. Instead I found myself pushing towards the finish, I skipped parts and skimmed for plot. I understand the importance of this novel but it’s a classic I could not get along with. Even though Winston gives up, Orwell has inspired generation after generation to be a better person than Winston was.