Free Writing: Withdrawal

Free Writing: Withdrawal

“Write about the biggest secret you failed to keep”, I used this opportunity to write about Shed.
Head: Where is your son?
Mum: He went to work.
H: He did not turn up.
M: Oh.
H: Indeed.
M: I don’t know.
H: What don’t you know?
M: Where they are.
H: They?
M: He.
H: I asked you where you son is and you tell me you don’t know where ‘they’ are.
M: My son went to work.
H: No, he didn’t.
M: He left the house at 6.45. I assume he went to work.
H: But he did not go to work.
M: He left the house at 6.45.
H: And you daughter?
M: At work.
H: Did she also leave the house at 6.45?
M: Yes.
H: She did not turn up at work.
M: Oh.
H: So you knew neither would be at work.
M: No.
H: Then why did you say ‘they’?
M: Slip of the tongue.
H: I don’t –
M: They’re a pair. They’re inseparable. See, I keep saying ‘they’.
H: So where are THEY?
M: I don’t know.
H: Liar.
M: Cunt.
HEAD SLAPS MUM
H: Proud of yourself?
M: Very much so.
H: Where are they?
M: The moon. Mars. Jupiter. However far they need to be to escape you.
H: Treachery is biological, is it?
M: Their father would be proud.
H: Are you proud? Proud of having a traitor for a husband, to father his pathetic offspring? Are you prepared to die for him? In him memory? For all he stood for?
M: Yes.
H: Excellent. I was hoping you would say that.
M: What?
H: We’ve been watching you since that day in the square. Back and forth, back and forth. It just started with the one bottle didn’t it? What is it now? Two? Vodka right? Yes, I too have had some wild nights drinking vodka but it has such a violent down. Not as violent, so I’m told, as coming off it. I’m going to watch you shrivel up into nothing like the worthless cunt you are.