Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

alice

We all know the story of Alice in Wonderland. We all know the incorrectly named Disney animation and the also incorrectly named Tim Burton film. These films incorporated elements from both Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, two different novels by Lewis Carroll. The Cheshire Cat can be found in Wonderland, Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum are through the looking glass.

One thing that remains constant is the character of Alice, unfortunately, this is where my problem lay. I could not get along with Alice. She was irritating, like a little sister. Maybe she’s just a vehicle for the rest of the book, it is her inquisitive nature that drives her deeper and deeper into the surreal world. If that’s the case, I don’t understand what Carroll is trying to say.

Maybe it’s because I like logic and there’s very little in Wonderland. Only the Queen of Hearts is graced with what I could call a narrative and some colourful characters are included in that, other parts stood alone. For me, it was weird and wonderful without substance. I think I need to read it again, and this time read the introduction that is longer than the book itself.