Blue Hogarth Group?

Blue Hogarth Group?

I love art. Although I favour the theatre and books, I appreciate paintings and sculptures. I can walk around galleries for hours. There’s no words, no language, no barriers. It can be enjoyed by all without knowing that Hogarth was a pictorial satirist, that his pictures poke fun, that they’re not accurate.

Nora Epinephrine and Sarah Tonin from “The Social Synapse”

“If you would like to establish a connection with people from another culture, it’s always good to offer a few gifts as a gesture of friendship. But, an even better way to forge a lasting bond is by creating something together. Whether it’s a meal, an art project or a spontaneous dance party, when you create with others, you create a connection that lasts a lifetime.”

This is the quote that meets you when you take your seats to see The Blue Man Group. Not a single word is uttered throughout the entire performance. The show is carefully crafted art, music and silliness. I admit when I started writing this, I pull Hogarth out of thin air but it’s an apt comparison.

The show is theatrical satire, it reflects modern day with a tongue in a blue cheek. Not sure if the tongue is blue… I don’t recall seeing one. Back to the show. There’s giant smart phones with crazy and pointless apps. There’s ‘art’ that’s sold for obscene amounts of money. All recognisable images and attitudes, all given a blue twist and put on stage for our enjoyment. Never has a show left me so speechless.