Speed Round

Speed Round

Two of these books were graphic novels, one was a debate and two don’t deserve a review. It’s time for a speed round. Five book reviews, no longer than 50 words a piece. Let’s go

Hansel and Gretel by Neil Gaiman

Maybe I’m biased being a Chris Riddell fan, but I preferred The Sleeper and the Spindle. These images were too dark, literally. This illustrator, Lorenzo Mattotti, used up all his black paint. Unlike Sleeper, this book was pretty close to the original story, I loved it; the art added nothing.

Charm and Strange by Stephanie Keuhn

Worst book I have ever finished.  When I don’t like a book, I put it down. With this, I hoped it got better, it would redeem itself. It did not. It’s not fantasy, it’s not clever. It tries too hard to reach the heights of its peers and fails.

Civil War by Mark Miller

A flawless graphic novel as you would expect from Marvel. It’s Captain America versus Ironman, Steve Rogers versus Tony Stark. As seen in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, there has always been tension and it peaks in Civil War. Should Superheroes have secret identities? Worth a read before the movie.

The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison

A book hyped due to the author’s death. A popular hook that often works, not here. A woman too used to her cosy existence given to her by her now ex wants revenge. It felt clichéd and tedious in parts from what I remember, it had very little impact.

Are Men Obsolete?

To summarise this book perfectly, I shall quote my Oedipus complex inducing crush Caitlin Moran: “Are men obsolete? My answer is no! I won’t let you be, you fuckers! We are going 50/50 in this world, goddammit”. A fantastic and thought provoking little read. Don’t burn your bras.