All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

In the words of the internet: I can’t even. I can’t even express my emotions about this book or form sentences that will ever do this book justice, but I will try. It is not through chance, but Theodore Finch’s recklessness that sees him paired up with Violet Markey on a geography project. Finch and Violet did meet on the ledge of the bell tower but they’d rather not talk about that. All the Bright Places is a story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

What I liked about this novel was the dual narration, we hear both Finch’s and Violet’s sides of the story. Both are trying to be someone they’re not. Both are trying to carry on as if everything is okay. Both are not okay. Violet is suffering aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. And Finch, well, Finch is Finch. Despite being chalk and cheese, they bring out the best in the other.

You’ll notice I’m talking more about characters than plot, and I have my reasons. Much like We Were Liars by E. Lockhart or Looking for Alaska by John Green, I can’t tell you anything about what happens without giving it away and, more importantly, deny you the pleasure of reading about these two unlikely friends. It broke my heart in a way I never thought possible. There will be tears.