Represent

Represent

A word we should delete: represent. Words are slave to fashion; otherwise selfie would not be in Oxford English Dictionary. It stands to reason that they also become unfashionable. Uncommon. Unused. I no longer want to be represented. I do not want a Conservative Member of Parliament representing my town. I do not want a stereotype representing my county. I certainly do not want the likes of David Cameron and Nigel Farage representing my country.

I also speak from a position of privilege. White girl problems, amirite? Middle class problems, amirite? The examples I laid out actually have little impact on my life. My hatred of Nigel Farage is as fashionable as the word selfie. I am not bullied or discriminated because of a representative. My skin colour, my religion and my upbringing are not labels forced upon me.

No one represents me. I don’t want anyone to represent me but me. Those with ‘cause’ are liars. They are not truly what they chose to represent and yet the media have chosen them as champions. I have fallen out of love with the news. I am now wise to their angles, their spin and their sell. The masses, the labelled and the falsely represented have sieged the internet and screamed ‘no!’ This man does not represent us. This action does not represent us. We are individuals with free will. We are not the original sin. We are good. I hate the word ‘represent’.