All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

Carrie Hope Fletcher is the Queen of modesty. She knows far more than I ever did at her age. Carrie draws from her own life experiences to give positive advice for tackling … well everything. Yes, a lot of it is about growing up and those difficult teenage years, but her warm words of friendship can help anyone through difficult times.

I read this at 26 years old, as a teenager I had my fair share of dramas. Everyone’s friends one minute and suddenly he said, she said, they said. Boys become the centre of the universe and friends are forgotten. Hair was set on fire in a corridor. Yes, those are some sweet memories from my time at secondary school. Naturally, my mum was on my side, I was simply too good to be friends with these petty people. I wish I had Carrie shouting at me: USE YOUR WORDS.

Part advice, part anecdotes, part schadenfreude (sorry Carrie), you’ll read this book with both contemplation and smiles. Her common sense, down to earth advice makes this debut equally entertaining and enlightening. She is everyone’s honorary big sister, she has wise words for every occasion. This book is shoulder to cry on in a time of need that you can carry in a reasonably sized handbag.