Childless vs Childfree

Childless vs Childfree

Thank you Old Trunk! Someone finally said it! Pramkicker is a show about being Childfree, not Childless. I don’t think I want children and I feel like my opinion is wrong. Especially after the headline of the New Statesman during Latitude 2015 when I saw the show was The Motherhood Trap: Why are so many successful women childless? Maybe they’re childfree. Maybe you should stop perpetuating the idea that you can’t have a career and children! This is part review, part rant. Old Trunk won’t mind, they are a duo set on sparking debates.

Pramkicker is about a woman who kicked a pram. The Lord Chamberlain toes will be curling. Harming an infant, have we learnt nothing from Edward Bond’s Saved? Spoiler alert, the child wasn’t in the pram. But with a title like Pramkicker, you can expect some raised eyebrows. Eyebrows that will fly pass your hair line until it reaches the back of your neck when you hear the foul language that spills from Sadie Hasler and Sarah Mayhew’s mouths. That’s why I fucking love these ladies.

Written by Hasler and directed by Mayhew, it is a balance of recreating and retelling. A duologue deluxe. Its two sisters making supposedly controversial choices with minimal drama. They have made choices, they are content with that and they’re going to get on with their lives. Yea Women! The masters of put up and shut up. Comedy trumps all, the sisters laugh together and that’s how they’ll get through it. And there’s gin. They play off each other and the audience so well it’s hard to imagine any of this was written down and it’s not fantastically witty and hilarious insults pulled out of thin air.

This is the storytelling I aspire to write myself and acting I could never achieve. They get to the root of the character and understand them inside out. Extremely helpful when you’re in a tent in the woods competing with a loud burlesque act outside. I wish I take some of the issues they covered with an air of ‘shit happens’. They’re not making a drama out of drama like coke, rape and pramkicking. It’s their story. This is what happened.