The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

Much like the book, being spilt into three, I shall do this review in three parts. These parts are: her fiction, her non-fiction and the heartbreaking introduction. Let’s start at the beginning shall we? Anne Fadiman was Keegan’s writing professor, a friendship blossomed almost immediately. Before I’d read a single word written by Keegan, Fadiman’s kind words about her spirit had me in tears. Her title essay, which follows the introduction, fills me with love and hope. That’s really what the book captures in its purest form: love and hope.

This carries on in her fiction. She left behind a trove of short stories that span over many different styles. Some touched my heart, but some were rather ‘American’. It’s my fault and my ignorance that made me miss references and the magnitude of the events she was describing. Her non-fiction was my favourite, she had a unique insight into the world around her. Her passion for the written word is infectious and inspiring. Together, we can stop the death of literature.