The Year of Reading Dangerously: How Fifty Great Books Saved My Life by Andy Miller

The Year of Reading Dangerously: How Fifty Great Books Saved My Life by Andy Miller


Sometimes we don’t give books enough credit. They’re all made of paper, all contain the same twenty six letters and yet they invoke something deep within us. They inspire us, they shape us and they change our lives. We all have that one book that made a difference. For Andy, one book and one realisation changed his life, and inspired him to read fifty great books. All because that one book wasn’t great. That book was The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.

If you’re a big book lover like me, you’ll love this book. We join Andy on his Year of Betterment with his List of Betterment. He puts his money where his mouth is and read through the classics. He reviews those books and reviews his life with great humour and love. He also has one or two fascinating brain waves like the Ten Astounding Similarities Between The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown and Moby Dick by Herman Melville; my favourite being The Plankton Factor.

Andy Miller has inspired me to be ruthless and dangerous with my reading. Life is too short to spend on bad books. If I don’t like it, I put it down (hence why a lot of my reviews are four or five star, anything less I stopped reading after the 100th page.) There are some classics that are worthy of the title and some that are not, what’s more important is what you make of the book not what others do. The fifty books discussed in the novel were Andy’s White Whale/Holy Grail, we both strongly recommend you make your own List of Betterment.