Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk


I shouldn’t be telling you this but Fight Club is about a club where men fight each other. Men are promised shiny futures, you can be anything you want to be and most importantly, you will be rich. But not everyone gets that lifestyle. Sometimes, you find yourself working in a dead end job you hate with no girlfriend and most importantly, no money. You’re angry with the world. You want to punch it and kick it. Tyler Durden suggests a club.

I don’t know what I expected when I started this novel. I knew of the film and the first two rules (there are actually eight to begin with!) but the book blew me away. It reads like poetry, there were short sharp sentences that read like punches. In parts with was immediate, in others, the slow pace of a ballad. It’s like nothing I’ve ever read before and doubt I will again.