Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I’m a couple of years late to the party, but I finally read Gone Girl. Published over three years ago this book has never lost steam, friends have recommended it and revealed nothing. They’ve held their tongues. ‘There’s a twist, you won’t see it coming.’ Unfortunately, the trailer to the film was poorly (or well) edited so I rightfully guessed the twist. That didn’t stop me enjoying it.

Yes, this book is a fantastic hunt for a missing person. Nick protests his innocence and that Amy is missing, everyone else thinks and knows she is dead. This should be taught at universities as who thrillers should be written. As the hours slip by we find out Mr and Mrs Dunne’s deepest darkest secrets. Revealed at precisely the right moments, we are constantly changing our minds on who is most to blame. Until we reach that crucial twist…

As well as a thrilling plot, this book is an examination into American culture and the power of the press. When no one believes Nick, I as the reader was by his side. The media spin and provoke and twist to find their shocking tale of a missing beautiful blonde housewife. For that, I had more respect for it rather than the did he/didn’t he I was lead to believe this book was.