The Pelican Brief by John Grisham

The Pelican Brief by John Grisham

This The Pelican Brief by John Grisham was my first time reading John Grisham and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I did start with this better known title but I haven’t seen the film so the whole thing was still mysterious for me. As with all thrillers, this novel relies heavily on what the author is not telling you. The murder of two Supreme Court Justices is enough to put the whole country on edge, but when Darcy Shaw’s boyfriend is killed in a car bomb, she knows this is personal.

The short chapters make for a page turning read, a book that entices that reader inside us that wants to read just more chapter at four in the morning. For me, it was a holiday read so I almost devoured it in one day. If you want a female driven thriller, this is it. Darcy is smart and capable, how else could she avoid being caught? Released in 1992, it still resonates today with its themes of corruption and greed. I could tell you why and how because that would spoil the book for you.