A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Before the iconic film, there was the iconic book. Until recently, I have been too scared to read this book. I’m squeamish at the best of times and the book is known for it’s ‘ultraviolence’. It also has its own language. I have trouble with English! However, you get so swept up in Alex’s world that you stop noticing the teen slang of ‘Nadsat’. It became part of my vocabulary as I read about fifteen-year-old Alex and his … erm … shenanigans.

A dystopian tale that exposes the darkest parts of our human nature. I’d argue Alex is a psychopath, whatever the case, he doesn’t feel much when he is robbing, raping or killing. You will feel uncomfortable reading parts and you should, that’s what makes you different from Alex, your repulsion. If you can get past that and the black comedy, this book is a fascinating exploration in that age old argument: nature versus nurture. Are we born violent, or is violence thrust upon us?