Demon Road by Derek Landy

Demon Road by Derek Landy

Landy is better known for his epic series about a sharply-dressed skeleton detective. His name is Skulduggery Pleasant. I haven’t read those. I’ve read the start of his new adventure: Demon Road. I was hooked on the first sentence: “Twelve hours before Amber Lamont’s parents tried to kill her, she was sitting between them in the principal’s office, her hands in her lap, stifling all the things she wanted to say.” If you don’t want to keep reading, we can’t be friends.

This book reminded me a lot of the television shows I love like Supernatural and Firefly, just as Joss Whedon says: ‘Make it dark, make it grim, make it tough, but then, for the love of God, tell a joke.’ Demon Road is funny, there are laugh out loud lines and jokes. It makes for a nice change of pace when the thrust of the novel is Amber is running away from her cannibalistic parents with a mysterious stranger in a Charger and a young Irish tag along.

I feel in love with all the characters. Amber is bright and feisty, she isn’t slim or beautiful to begin with and I admire that choice. However, Amber is able to shift into a demon form, in this form she is beautiful and we are constantly reminded of that. I thought she was cool to begin with. I grew tired of reading about it. The Irish hitchhiker Glen provided the comic relief and Milo provided the mystery. A book full of monsters old and new; it will make you smile, sick to your stomach and turning pages as quickly as possible.