Nightmares

Nightmares

I want to talk to you about nightmares. I haven’t had many myself. I think that’s because I never watched horror films. Tim Curry’s Pennywise never came for me. I never saw the girl from The Ring in public places. I never thought serial killers and psychopaths were waiting for me around the corner. I wasn’t going to die by chainsaw or elaborate games. In fact, I rarely dream. The ones I remember seem to say something.

There are two in particular I like to talk about. The first is about my dad. A mad axe man comes into my room and cuts off my head. It sounds like the stuff of nightmares but I survive. I pick up my head and take it downstairs to show my dad in the living room. He shouts at me for getting blood on the carpet. Yep, that’s my dad. The other one, no one believes me when I tell them. I’m on the Titanic, I’m a young child. Younger than I was at the time of the dream. I’m screaming and looking for my family. A man picks me up and claims me as his own to get on the boats. I can hear the clogs in your head turning, that does happen in the film. HOWEVER, I have never seen the film. I have never seen Titanic. Later in the dream, I later discover my sister survived and was actually my neighbour.

I’m not one for nightmares but my imagination does take me to some dark places. I’ll wonder if anyone has died in my house. I convince myself old gorgeous pubs are haunted and I’ll pee at the speed of light to get back to the table with my friends. I think it’s ghosts that I’m not certain on. Aliens are a big nope. Serial killers are out there and they fascinate more than frighten. But ghosts, even thinking about it and typing it now, I’m creeping myself out. Sleep will be difficult to achieve tonight. I wonder how difficult it’ll be to get a shotgun and rock salt…

The books haven’t given me nightmares so far but I started with some gentler titles. I’m on Poe at the moment and King is next. I’ll be sure to have pen and paper by the bed ready to scribble the terrible things that keep me up at night. Ghosts and monsters will be a welcomed change from: WHAT AM I DOING WITH MY LIFE?