From Horror to Sci-Fi

From Horror to Sci-Fi

Snapshot 1 (27-09-2015 17-17)

So I’ve done Horror October. If I’m being honest, I am disappointed with myself. I didn’t read as much as I thought I would. I wanted to read everything I owned in the photo above. I did buy one more and was sent two by publishers, that’s a total of fourteen books. Now that I stop and think about it, that’s a challenge without factoring in two weeks of tough festival work, a hen weekend and a wedding five-day spectacular. I’m happy to survived it with a clean bill of health! There was one serve post-wedding hang over but I had work that evening so had to power through it. I had wine head and jager belly. Not fun. So actually I’m happy to have read six books in full, one solid attempt at Poe and three short stories.

Click here to watch my Horror October playlist.

Onwards and upwards. It’s officially November and I am without a job. I left Waterstones after five years of hard work for a new challenge. I’m unsure what that challenge is but I’ve been needing a change for a while. Thankfully, November is a field of opportunities for several reasons. The boring one being seasonal work, I’m at a hotel pouring pints again so I can buy Christmas presents and alcohol. As for the book stuff, I can two fantastic campaigns to get behind.

The first is National Novel Writing Month, known as NaNoWriMo, “a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30.” Books are my hobby and passion but plays are my calling. It’s what I’ve been ‘trained’ to write and adore the immediate and demanding nature of the beast. I doubt there are many 50,000 word plays out there, unless your terribly anal about your stage direction then maybe you should be writing novels if you want that much control! I love dialogue and I like to think it’s what I do best. So I may not be sticking to the deadlines set by NaNoWriMo but I shall be embracing the spirit! You can read and watch my struggles in the usual places.

The second is a reading month set up by Rinn Reads. I met Rinn many years ago when we both worked at the Cheltenham Literature Festival and have been following her on her blog even since. Her passion is science fiction and fantasy; a genre I occasionally frequent myself but want to more. But I find the seven, twelve, thirty odd book sagas daunting! Waiting for the next book can also be painful! I don’t think I could put myself through it after all those years of waiting for the next Harry Potter. Anyway, Rinn has declared November Sci-Fi month and it’s in its third year!

You can read all about it here.

So as well as writing all the plays living in my head, I’ll be reading all the science fiction book I gaze at longingly on my shelves. I might even finished Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! I have plenty of time on my hands now, this should be easy…

One thought on “From Horror to Sci-Fi

  1. Yessss now I can comment 😀

    I’m really glad you’re joining SFM this year, welcome on board! ❤ Also, I have trouble sticking to set lists of books too. Too much of a mood reader…

Leave a Reply

