We Don’t Belong on Other Planets | #RRSciFiMonth

We Don’t Belong on Other Planets | #RRSciFiMonth

Normally when I write a review or a blog, I have a plan; there are points I want to hit and get across. This blog is just a notion. I’m going to have a ramble, a debate with myself, I’m going to think out loud. By out loud, I mean onto this word document then onto my blog. Apologies in advance.

We don’t belong on other planets. Let me explain.

This opinion is made up of two schools of thought, if that’s the correct use of that phrase. Firstly, even if a planet is uninhabited, we humans don’t have a great track record of sharing. We fight for land. It brings out the worse in people. We are fighting about borders today and shedding blood. We will be fighting about borders forever. I don’t want to imagine starting that all over again on a new planet.

If a planet is inhabited, we definitely shouldn’t go. I don’t know if you would class it as Science Fiction, but reading The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber has opened my eyes. (It has aliens and space travel, it’s pretty much SciFi right?) We may have the best intentions and that alien may be more intelligent and superior, but we will assume we are better. Humans are flawed. Humans are fucked up. I don’t know who put humans in charge, that was a stupid move. It was probably a human.

The second thought is about the state of the planet. Our planet. Our home. We are destroying; we are not thinking about it as a delicate, living thing. I think it’s saveable. I don’t think it’s too late. Yet. We’re not at Wall.E levels of fucked up. Packing up and shipping off somewhere else shouldn’t be an option. We need to use renewable energy. We need to recycle. Then we need to start thinking about the dangers of over populating the planet. 10 Billion by Stephen Emmott is one of the scariest books I have ever read.

Thinking about Science Fiction had got me thinking about our reality. Maybe it’s not as bleak as we think. Maybe I’m right. If we as a race were capable of learning from our mistakes, I wouldn’t be so worried.

Leave a Reply

