Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

91E6exaOufL (1)

As I write this I am 27. When I read this book I was 26. I remember at the age of 23 being asked about my pension. At times, I feel old. I don’t go clubbing or know the latest trends. But I also feel young, I’m still living at home with my parents and don’t have one of them ‘proper jobs’ I’ve heard so much about. I’m certainly not that old. I’m not thinking about my knees going or whether I can rock the blue rinse. I kind of am now. After reading this book, I’m ready.

Atul Gawande is a doctor. Doctor is an understatement. He is ‘MD, MPH, is a surgeon, writer, and public health researcher’. (Cut and pasted from his website.) He draws from his experiences in the profession and in his own life to talk about the end of life. He explores what we did wrong, what goes wrong and the amazing people righting the wrongs. I didn’t think I would enjoy this book as much as I did. Please don’t let the concept put you off. Being Mortal is a universal truth that must be acknowledged and faced.

Leave a Reply

