Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

81SX8d6vpzL

We all know the story of how this book came to be, even if you haven’t read her first book. It’s a classic. I read To Kill A Mockingbird at a later stage of my life. Thankfully it wasn’t rammed down my throat at school because that is a quick and efficient way of destroying a book you love. I loved the character of Scout. I loved the character of Atticus Finch. The idea of a sequel worried me, it worried a lot of people.

Scout returns home and a lot of things have changed. Atticus has slowed down a little bit, he deserves it. Everyone is older but not all the wiser. There are still tensions in the town. Scout, my apologies, Jean Louise has travelled from New York where things are slightly more liberal and accepting. Nothing has changed in Maycomb, Alabama. And that’s all the books really about. There’s not much in the way of plot, not like the rape trail that dominates the first book.

I certainly enjoyed the second but she achieved greater things with the first. The author, I imagine, wanted to explore racism in the deep south. To Kill A Mockingbird is about action and Go Set a Watchman is a lot of talking about it. It goes to show the power of a good editor. There is the plot of Mockingbird in Watchman and it was the better story. That was the only problem I had with it, I still love the characters (the Atticus was blown out of proportion) and I love the writing. It just didn’t pack the same punch.

Leave a Reply

