Project Honey Badger

Project Honey Badger

honey badger

I have a plan. A project. I gave it a kick ass name because it’s rather boring, time consuming and necessary. I’ve used a number of tools to write my plays. They start as free programmes that then move to online only unless you want to pay for it. I’ve experimented with other free, corrupt and wildly unhelpful programmes that aren’t worth the frustrations too. After speaking to a number of playwrights, they all agree: Microsoft Word is best.

So the nature of the beast is to retype and reformat all of my completed works, half starts and work in progresses into word documents. I said it was going to be time consuming. At the end of the day, these smaller programmes will come and go but we will always have Windows, Microsoft and Bill Gates. Not matter how awful the interface is or how often Windows 10 has to install updates and fuck up my old laptop (I type this on a shiny new red one, fingers crossed), broke writers like myself will always use Windows, Microsoft and Bill Gates.

I have no idea how long this will take or even if scripts have survived in the dated programmes; it has to be done. I’m almost certain I have most projects in a physical copy. I’m moving out soon to my own place and see this an opportunity to sort the gold from the shit. Time to kill some darlings. I have too many folders of newspaper clipping from crazy stories that are so impossible they could only be believed as fiction rather than fact. In my life time, I don’t think I’ll have the time to tell them all. There are some more urgent than others and I’d rather do them to the best of my ability. I want quality over quantity as any writer would. Is five a good number? I know it odd, but it’ a good round number. Yea. Five is good. Time to pick some favourites.

One thought on “Project Honey Badger

Leave a Reply

